Vacation Surprise

Over the years I have come to accept my shape and imperfections, and now I focus far more on how I feel than on how I look.  The cottage I had leased in the island beach community had a full length mirror, which I had ignored  with neutrality since my arrival.  But one day, I looked at it, and my reflection, and felt horrified to see how short and stocky my legs appeared.  I thought I looked better than that!  Of course my first thought was that it must be a “trick” mirror, so I had my thin, long legged sister-in-law stand in front of it.  Well, her reflection looked the same as she did in reality.  For a moment or two I felt some old familiar feelings of body hating and the shrinking of spirit that accompanies them.  I heard my mother’s mantra “You don’t have a weight problem, you have a figure problem”.
 My body is a problem?
Ah well, maybe there IS more self acceptance work to do, but right now the sun is shining, my bike is outside and there is a beautiful island waiting to be explored.  These short, powerful, healthy legs are ready and willing to grace me with a day of bliss!
Kate — Mental Health Nurse
About womaninthemirrorblog

Author of The Woman in the Mirror: How To Stop Confusing What You Look Like with Who You Are
This entry was posted in Mirror Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Post Your Reflection Here

