Going Mirrorless

Proud2BeUS has catalogued several of the “Go Mirrorless” movements here http://proud2bme.org/content/could-you-go-mirror-less 

 

And Psychology Today blog unveils how Facebook can be a blow to your mood http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/valley-girl-brain/201112/how-quit-facebook

About womaninthemirrorblog

Author of The Woman in the Mirror: How To Stop Confusing What You Look Like with Who You Are
This entry was posted in Mirrors in the Media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Mirrorless

  1. anonymous says:

    I never look in the mirror if I can help it. I think I’ve gone years without looking at myself in the past. When I was in my teens, I thought I was very ugly, and became bulimic eventually. I am now 45 and realise that a lot of that was because I had some terrible stuff happen when I was a child: I was abused when I was 11. I was bullied by an elder sister who was quite violent and jealous of my relationship with my parents (I was the ‘intellectual’ one – she the beautiful one). No one told me I was ugly. My father told me I was pretty, but words don’t do it – it’s actions. I needed someone to say – it’s ok, you’re loved. When I was sixteen, I fell in love but my love for the boyfriend was so powerful I think it must have scared him. I had a few other boyfriends, and then when I was 18 I fell in love with the man I have stayed with ever since – I am now in my mid forties. We have grown up together, and of course it isn’t always perfect, but we are good friends, we are good lovers, and he thinks I am beautiful. He tells me first thing in the morning, he tells me when I have dressed up, he tells me when I am sweaty and just back from a run, he tells me when I’m covered in dirt, or when we have just carried a piece of furniture up the stairs. I don’t look in the mirror because I am scared of feeling self critical again and becoming bulimic again. I have trained myself to look at bits of myself – to be able to apply makeup for instance, or check that the clothes look ok. But actually LOOK at myself – I don’t do that. Because someone else says ‘you’re beautiful’ every day. I trust him, I love him, I believe him.

Post Your Reflection Here

